Anna and the Apocalypse


A review

Anna and the Apocalypse by Katharine Turner

Audiobook by Macmillan Audio in 2018.

Horror – Zombie – Christmas

Synopsis:

School’s out for the end of the world.

Anna and the Apocalypse is a horror comedy about a teenager who faces down a zombie apocalypse with a little help from her friends.

Anna Shepherd is a straight-A student with a lot going on under the surface: she’s struggling with her mom’s death, total friend drama, and the fallout from wasting her time on a very attractive boy. She’s looking forward to skipping town after graduation–but then a zombie apocalypse majorly disrupts the holidays season. It’s going to be veryhard to graduate high school without a brain.

To save the day, Anna, her friends, and her frenemies will have to journey straight to the heart of one of the most dangerous places ever known, a place famous for its horror, terror, and pain…high school.

My thoughts:

I enjoyed this book. This makes me think that I should read it physically since I have issues paying attention to audiobooks and reading this way usually means I am rating books lower than I normally would.

Even though this is a YA zombie horror, they don’t pull their punches on the horror, lots of deaths and gore. This, of course, is why I enjoyed the book. The base story is the normal bland base story of most YA horror stories: a high school student and her friends face the apocalypse all the while dealing with the everyday challenges of their lives.

My rating: 4⭐️

Follow me at my campsite links, StoryGraph, and Goodreads

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started